Our Care and Education Members

Alimoradiyan, Farnouche
RN, BScN, CDE
Profession

Diabetes Educator

Contact Information
Toronto General Hospital

University Health Network
Toronto General Hospital
200 Elizabeth Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2C4


farnouche.alimoradiyan@uhn.ca
Andrade, Christine
RN(EC), MN
Profession

Nurse Practitioner

Contact Information
Mount Sinai Hospital
60 Murray St.
Toronto, ON M5T 3L9
Phone: 416-586-4800
Fax: 416-361-2662
CAndrade@mtsinai.on.ca
Diabetes Related Activities:

Inpatient and outpatient diabetes management and education.

Blekaitis, Karen
RD
Profession

Dieitian

Contact Information
Toronto General Hospital
12N1245
200 Elizabeth St.
Toronto, ON M5G2C4
Phone: 416-340-4800
karen.blekaitis@uhn.ca
Diabetes Related Activities:

Registered Dietitian at University Health Network

Blumer, Ian
MD, FRCPC
Profession

Diabetology

Contact Information
Charles H. Best Diabetes Centre
401-95 Bayly Street West
Ajax, ON L1S 7K8
Phone: 905-427-2678
ian@ianblumer.com
View website
Diabetes Related Activities:

Board Director and medical advisor, The Charles H. Best Diabetes Centre.

Board Director, The Canadian Diabetes Association.

Faculty, Taking Control of Your Diabetes

Chair, The Endocrine Society Diabetes and Pregnancy Clinical Practice Guideline Task Force.

Co-author, Diabetes for Canadians for Dummies.

Brum, Margaret
RD, CDE
Profession

Registered Dietitian

Contact Information
University Health Network
Toronto Western Hospital
399 Bathurst St, 8 East-400
Toronto, ON M5T 2S8
Phone: 416-603-5800
Fax: 416-603-5274
margaret.brum@uhn.ca
Diabetes Related Activities:

I teach a minimum of one group nutrition class per week and see patients in clinic daily for individual nutrition counseling.  I also supervise nutrition students from the University of Toronto and give presentations to medical staff and community members. I am the research dietitian for the International Sodium-HF study, TGH site.

Brundage, Anna
RN, BHSc(N), CDE
Profession

Nurse and Diabetes Educator

Contact Information
Women's College Hospital

anna.brundage@wchospital.ca
Caplan, Leigh
RN, BSc, Ma CDE
Profession

Registered Nurse, Certified Diabetes Educator

Contact Information
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

leigh.caplan@sunnybrook.ca
Cardinez, Nancy
BN, MN-NP, CDE
Profession

Nurse Practitioner, Diabetes Clinical Research Nurse Specialist

Contact Information
Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute
60 Murray St.
Toronto, ON M5T 3L9
Phone: 416-586-4800 x4436
ncardinez@lunenfeld.ca
Diabetes Related Activities:

Clinical Interest:

Diabetes management & technologies

Research Interests:

1. Adjunctive Therapies in type 1 Diabetes. Empagliflozin as Adjunctive to inSulin thErapy in Type 1 Diabetes Over 52 Weeks (EASE-2)

2. The Use of a Nurse Practitioner led Transitional Diabetes Clinic Following Transplantation

Cela, Suela
MSW, RSW
Profession

Social Worker, Outpatient Diabetes/Renal Transplant, Urology and Ophthalmology

Contact Information
St. Michael's Hospital
Room 7-017
61 Queen Street East
Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T2
Phone: 416-867-7460 x8244
celas@smh.ca
Cham, Leslie
RN
Profession

Clinical Research Coordinator, Registered Nurse

Contact Information
Dr. Cherney's Renal Physiology Lab, Toronto General Hospital
Room 12N1215
200 Elizabeth St.
Toronto, ON M5G 2C4
Phone: 416-340-4800
Leslie.cham@uhn.ca
Diabetes Related Activities:

I help conduct patient visits for various physiological diabetes related studies at the Renal Physiology Lab. Examples of studies I am involved in include the Diabetes Longevity Study (examines phenotypes of people who have had type 1 diabetes for over 50 years) and the INDORSE study (looking at the renal hemodynamic effects of DPP-4 inhibitor therapy in people with type 2 diabetes).

Chan, Joyce
PharmD, MS, BCPS (AQ Cardiology), ACPR, CDE
Profession

Clinical Pharmacist

Contact Information
University Health Network
ON
joyce.chan@uhn.on.ca
Chan, Lucia
RN, CDE
Profession

Nursing

Contact Information
Toronto Western Hospital, University Health Network
West Wing
399 Bathurst Street
Toronto, ON M5T 2S8
Phone: 416-603-5800
lucia.chan@uhn.on.ca
Cheung, Tina
RN, MN, CDE
Profession

Clinical Nurse Specialist

Contact Information
University Health Network
Toronto General Hospital. 13EB-300
200 Elizabeth Street
Toronto, ON M5G 2C4
Phone: 416-340-4800
tina.cheung@uhn.ca
Diabetes Related Activities:

I am the diabetes educator for all admitted patients in General Internal Medicine at Toronto General Hospital. I provide diabetes education and clinical management to patients admitted with T1DM or complex T2DM.

Choy, Amy
RN, CDE
Profession

Nursing

Contact Information
Toronto Western Hospital
Toronto Western Hospital
399 Bathurst St.
Toronto, ON M5T 2S8
Phone: 416-603-5800 x5737
amy.choy@uhn.ca
Diabetes Related Activities:

I am part of the diabetes education program within our FHT, where I provide counselling on Type 2 diabetes to our rostered patients, ranging from basic education to lifestyle counselling to insulin titration. 

Christo, Carolyn
RD,CDE
Profession

Registered Dietitian, Certified Diabetes Educator

Contact Information
Women's College Hospital

cchristo@mt.sinai.on.ca
Clark, Elaine
RD, CDE
Profession

Registered Dietitian

Contact Information
St. Joseph Health Centre
ACC
30 The Queensway
Toronto, ON M6R 1B5
Phone: 416-937-4671
clarke@stjoe.on.ca
Diabetes Related Activities:

I am employed full time as a dietitian and certified diabetes educator.  I work with individuals who have Type 1, Type 2 and gestational diabetes.

Cleave, Barbara
RN, MN, CDE
Profession

Registered Nurse

Contact Information
Mount Sinai Hospital
Joseph and Wolf Lebovic Health Complex
60 Murray Street
Toronto, ON M5T 3L9
Phone: 416-586-4800 x2622
Fax: 416-361-2662
Barbara.Cleave@sinaihealthsystem.ca
Cohen, Kathy
RD, CDE
Profession

Registered Dietitian, Certified Diabetes Educator

Contact Information
Toronto Western Hospital, University Health Network

kathy.cohen@uhn.on.ca
Daneman, Denis
MD
Profession

Endocrinologist

Contact Information
The Hospital For Sick Children

denis.daneman@sickkids.ca
Dheda, Shane
BSc(Hons.), DCh
Profession

Chiropodist/Foot Specialist

Contact Information
Toronto Rehabilitation Institute
130 Dunn Avenue
Toronto, ON M6K2R7
Phone: 416-597-3422
shane.dheda@uhn.ca
1 2 3 5 Next › Last »