Acknowledgements 2018

As another academic year comes to an end, we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincerest gratitude and appreciation to the following individuals and organizations:

The members of our Training and Research Excellence Committee, Quality Education and Safety (QUEST) Committee, and Trainee Advancement and Development Committee who volunteer their time to review applications for the Centre’s funding programs and to organize educational initiatives on behalf of the BBDC.

The members of our Executive Committee and Clinical Applied Research Education (CARE) Committee.

Those who participated in the 4th BBDC-Joslin Diabetes Center-University of Copenhagen Conference in Toronto in October 2017 including:

  • Guest speakers: Karin Bornfeldt, Andre Carpentier, Patricia D’Amore, Paul Fernyhough, Ira Herman.
  • BBDC speakers: Kim Connelly, Richard Gilbert, Bruce Perkins, Darren Yuen, Bernard Zinman.
  • Joslin speakers: Heather Ferris, Monika Niewczas, Weier (Glorian) Qi, Christian Rask-Madsen, Jennifer Sun.
  • UPCH speakers: Henning Beck-Nielsen, Allan Flyvbjerg, Michael Larsen, Peter Rossing, Birger Thorsteinsson.

Everyone who participated in our 29th Annual Scientific Day including guest speaker Dr. Leonard Guarente, and U of T speakers Drs. Michelle Bendeck, Evan Lewis, Richard Gilbert, Maria Cristina Nostro and Hoon-Ki Sung.

The 2017/2018 Annual Trainee Awards poster judges, Drs. Martin Myers Jr. and Kim Connelly.

Our 2018 Charles Hollenberg Summer Studentship Program Coordinator, Dr. Priska Stahel.

Faculty of Medicine Advancement and the Toronto General and Western Hospital Foundation who fundraise on behalf of the BBDC.

The supporters who helped make our events possible this past year: AstraZeneca, Boehringer-Ingelheim/Eli Lilly Diabetes Alliance, Janssen, Merck, Novo Nordisk and Sanofi.

Our major supporters: Sun Life Financial, University Health Network and the Toronto General & Western Hospital Foundation.

BBDC program supporters: Janssen, Boehringer-Ingelheim/Eli Lilly Diabetes Alliance, and Sir Frederick Banting Legacy Foundation

Individuals who have donated to the Banting & Best Diabetes Centre this past year.