Graduate Studentships 2018/2019

Banting & Best Diabetes Centre-Novo Nordisk Studentships
BBDC-University Health Network Graduate Awards
Tamarack Graduate Award in Diabetes Research
Yow Kam-Yuen Graduate Scholarship in Diabetes Research

Competition Deadline Date: March 27, 2018

In order to maximize available funding, studentships will be awarded in two stages beginning with the first round of notifications in mid June 2018.  The second round of notifications will occur in mid July.  If extra funding becomes available after the second round, additional awards may be announced in late July.

Last updated: July 9, 2018

Banting & Best Diabetes Centre-Novo Nordisk Studentships

Recipient Supervisor Title of Research

Dana Al Rijjal

Dr. Michael Wheeler

The Effect of Putative Novel Bioactive Components in Fish Oil Supplements on Pancreatic Beta Cell Function

Andrew Biancolin

Dr. Patricia Brubaker

The Role of Secretagogin in Circadian GLP-1 Secretion

Parastoo Boroumand

Dr. Amira Klip

How obesity instructs immune cell pro-inflammatory activation: implications for metabolic disease

Matthew Clemenzi

Dr. Denise Belsham

Inflammatory Factors Affecting Hypothalamic Food Intake Regulatory Pathways

Mitchell Hadden

Dr. Andrew Advani

Long non-coding RNA in diabetic kidney disease

Chantel Kowalchuk
(Declined Award)

Dr. Margaret Hahn and Dr. Gary Remington

Elucidating the mechanisms behind antipsychotic dysregulation of glucose homeostasis

Dandan Li

Dr. Vladimir Vuksan

The Role of Dietary Nitrate on Blood Pressure and Cardiovascular Disease Risk Factors: A Randomized, Controlled Trial in Individuals with Elevated Blood Pressure

Emma McIlwraith

Dr. Denise Belsham

The role of the novel neuropeptide phoenixin and its receptor in energy homeostasis

David Ngai
(Declined Award)

Dr. Michelle Bendeck

The Discoidin Domain Receptor-1 Acts as a Mechanotransducer to Promote Vascular Calcification

Erika Opingari

Dr. Subodh Verma

Effects of Empagliflozin on Renal Biomarkers in Type II Diabetes: EMPA-HEART Trial

Krystal Ortaleza

Dr. Michael Sefton

Immunoisolation of Pancreatic Islets by Microencapsulation for Subcutaneous Transplantation into Diabetic Mice

Fitore Raka

Dr. Khosrow Adeli

Elucidating the role of GLP-1 sensitivity in diet-induced insulin resistance and dyslipidemia

Sydney Rivers

Dr. Adria Giaca

Hepatic Signalling of Glucose and Lipid Metabolism in vivo

Vivian Szeto
(Declined Award)

Dr. Zhong-Ping Feng

Transgenerational Effects of Maternal Diabetes and Caffeine Consumption on Brain Metabolism and Neurodevelopment

Justin Trac

Dr. Subodh Verma and Dr. David Hess

Impact of bariatric surgery on circulating inflammatory and pro-vascular progenitor cell populations

Madyson Weippert

Dr. Mary L’Abbe

Modelling the impact of lowering sugar contents in Canadian prepackaged foods and beverages

Shahen Yashpal

Dr. Anthony Hanley

Metabolomic Profiling of the DASH Diet: Novel insights for the Nutritional Epidemiology of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus


BBDC-University Health Network Graduate Awards

Recipient Supervisor Title of Research

Yi Tao Chan

Dr. Daniel Winer

Investigating the role of insulin receptor signaling in B cell function and metabolism.

Daniella Febbraro

Dr. Minna Woo

Examining the role of a novel autophagy gene UV radiation resistance protein (UVRAG) in skeletal muscle

Saad Khan

Dr. Daniel Winer

The Role of B Cells in Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease and Insulin Resistance

Yousef Manialawy

Dr. Michael Wheeler

A discovery-based approach to characterize novel proteins involved in the regulation of insulin secretion

Emily Catherine McGaugh

Dr. Cristina Nostro

Modeling pancreatic development using hESC and patient specific iPSC

Romario Regeenes

Dr. Jonathan Rocheleau

Design of a Multiparameter Islet-on-a-chip Device to Measure the Functional Variability of Individual Pancreatic Islets


Yow Kam-Yuen Graduate Scholarship in Diabetes Research

Recipient Supervisor Title of Research

Justin Hou Ming Yung

Dr. Adria Giacca

Lipotoxicity and Beta Cell Insulin Resistance: Role of c-Jun N-terminal kinase


Tamarack Graduate Award in Diabetes  Research

Recipient Supervisor Title of Research
Jhenielle Campbell Dr. Patricia Brubaker Regulation of glucagon-like peptide-1 exocytosis from the intestinal L cell by Munc18-1
Simon Hoffman Dr. Khosrow Adeli Nervous regulation of intestinal lipoprotein production in diabetic dyslipidemia: an in-vivo examination of the modulatory potential of GLP-1